Life

My *???* Lb Life

Yesterday I went to the doctor. I specifically asked the nurse to please not let me know what my weight was when she put me on the scale. I haven’t weighed myself in almost an entire year!!! This is a huge accomplishment since I used to weigh myself multiple times a day…

Debunking the common myths about eating disorders and body dysmorphia:

So, as I was leaving the doctor they gave me a print-out summary of my appointment. On the top was my weight and BMI. The doctor knows I have an eating disorder, she is aware it’s better I don’t know my weight. This seriously threw me for a loop. I realized I am still struggling with body dysmorphia. but I know logically it’s just a number, but holy crap! I don’t blame her at all, she just doesn’t understand how this could really set back someone with an eating disorder.

Image result for gif scale funny

The need for eating disorder education with healthcare providers here is exponential…

After this I went and ate lunch by myself! I reflected and logically thought about how it is just a number. Of course my eating disorder thoughts were trying to take over, but I tried to combat these thoughts at all costs. This number on a machine does not define who I am. My life has been so different this past year. I now know the number, but I choose not to dwell on it. I am choosing to live a life with purpose!

My body is my home and I will not tear it down - A poem by Anastasia Amour @ www.anastasiaamour.com:

My hope is that as humans in a world obsessed with weight, sizes, diets, etc, we can choose not to freak out about a number on a scale. Does this really define us? Seriously? We are more than a number. The obsession a year ago was horrible. I have realized how far I have come in the last year.

I hope and pray others can realize they are more than a number. Enjoy the lives we have been given and realize every second is precious!

 

 

Leave a Reply

