articles, eating disorder, Life

Mental Health Awareness May 2.0

This year’s theme is RISKY BUSINESS. I get the idea of risky behaviors that people start not realizing they can lead them down a path towards crisis. For example internet addiction, compulsive buying, compulsive sex and exercise extremes.

There is something that keeps coming up in my mind… SUICIDE.

 

The statistics on bullying and suicide are alarming:

  • Suicide is the third leading cause of death among young people, resulting in about 4,400 deaths per year, according to the CDC.

  • For every suicide among young people, there are at least 100 suicide attempts.

 

Lately suicide keeps being brought up in my life, so I feel like I need to do a blog post on it. Recently, there’s been a few patients in the ICU who have attempted suicide, I’ve been told about how multiple girls committed suicide at a local high school this year, Amy the founder of Project Semicolon took her own life… The list goes on…

Beautiful fake smile All it takes is a beautiful fake smile to hide an injured soul and they will never notice how broken you really are. — Robin Williams:

RISKY BUSINESS DOESN’T EVEN CUT IT! I like this theme for Mental Health Awareness May, but when it comes to suicide these lovely souls are past risky business. They are done, have given up, if only someone could save them. I wish I could, but I do the best I can. Suicide is life-ending, family-destroying, the end of the end.

My heart ❤ is breaking 💔

Leave a Reply

