eating disorder

Healthcare . . .

For the last 5 years, I have been going to multiple doctors trying to figure out many medical problems I had. I went doctor to doctor to doctor having many of them just fixing symptoms and not the real underlying problem.  Doctors would add on so many medicines, supplements, diet changes, telling me I need to “lose weight…” It is no wonder this contributed to my ED.

I never had a doctor figure out I had ED. I found out myself… Family history, friends with ED, symptoms and changes I felt in my body, and my good ol’ gut feeling. Having my nursing degree is good and bad. Good because I really have a good sense usually what is going on with me, but bad because I know sometimes I can overthink and be paranoid. I tried telling a few closest people to me of my fears that I had ED, but I had mixed reviews… this confused me more, but I chose to try and talk with my PCP. My PCP didn’t know how she could help me even with me telling her I thought I had a problem… I went to a new therapist… no help. I finally contacted a ED doctor that had seen some people I knew. She finally helped me realize my issue I had struggled with since I was such a young girl, 12 years old… She sat me down and made me feel so comfortable. I will forever be grateful for her.

She is a bright light in a very dark world. ED still to be so unknown and not talked about in healthcare. Since my enlightenment in my journey through ED, I have dealt with many healthcare professionals that have said things that really hit me in the gut. Below are some stories of mine and others that I want to share. I want doctors, therapists, nurses, any healthcare practitioners in general to be more aware of the sensitivity and nature of ED and how it effects others… even when they are just speaking to others.

  • I went to get a massage one day from my main masseuse I go to… the masseuse felt comfortable enough to tell me tips on posture. I stood before her and she told me my stomach stood out too far and to “try these methods to get my belly sucked in more…” she told me that her’s sticks out because she has had 3 kids… – I don’t understand why she felt comfortable giving me this advice. This was early in my treatment and all I wanted to do was cry. Little did she know, my stomach had been for many years my least favorite area of my body… I had tried everything to get my belly down. I felt if my belly was sticking out further than my bra then I didn’t look “feminine enough,” skinny enough,” lovable,” etc. Body dysmorphia to the finest…
  • I know a person who only eats about every 2/3 days. She enjoys tacos, so that’s what she usually eats… when she does. She went to visit her doctor and told him about what’s been going on.  She overhead the doctor outside the room joking with others that when she does eat it must be a bunch of tacos… This doctor said this because the lady looked to be overweight. – I wish this doctor thought about restriction, the fact she was starving herself, look at her vitals and labs, even just realizing how awful these things are to hear.
  • My normal temperature runs 97.4-97.6 at all times. I rarely run a “real” fever. Fever for me is usually mid 98s to 99s with all the symptoms of a fever. I’ve learned I am still just as contagious during these temps while others have higher temps. My favorite is when I go to the doctor with a sickness and them or the LPNs, RNs, CNAs don’t believe me when I tell them that the temperature is a fever for me. I get looks, questioned, I mean am I on stand for trial? I KNOW MY BODY!

My hope is that healthcare professionals in general start to be more educated on ED and the effects it has on the patients, families, friends. I will do my part, will you?

 

If you have stories to share! comment below!

Love,

Mariah

2 thoughts on “Healthcare . . .”

Leave a Reply

